Ashland

DAY 29: 

This Crater Lake closure really had me torn. I was kind of going to Ashland with no plan and hoping things would fall into place. There was no clear cut option for me to choose at this point. I got into Medford late at night.

DAY 30:

Although I was staying in Medford, I went to Ashland to explore. I got a ride form a trail angel to Callaghan’s Lodge, which is along the PCT, so I could get my town items I had mailed myself. I ate lunch there and ordered the hiker spaghetti special (which I was not impressed with, wouldn’t recommend). I got a ride back to town from the same trail angel and then shopped around a little. I loved all the shops in Ashland although it is quite pricey. The town has a really cool hippy vibe and is very family oriented.

I met my host Jeremy, who I was staying with, and his friend Erin at the Black Sheep for dinner. I was telling them how my trip was first inspired by the Redwoods, and that’s what gave me the desire to travel to California. By coincidence, Erin was making a trip to the Redwoods the next day and asked if I wanted to join. I couldn’t believe it, I was so happy. This is why section hiking appealed to me. I could make these trips and have the flexibility. Looking back, it really upsets me that I had planned over my original dream. As much as I love the PCT, the Redwoods were how I discovered it. They were what inspired me to want to travel to California.

After dinner we walked around Lithia Park, which is really something else. It’s a huge park located downtown that is very well maintained and has so many different areas and chill spots. We saw so many deer in the park, it was crazy.

We went back to the house and I honestly barely slept that night because I was so excited to go to the forest the next day.
DAY 31:

Erin picked me up early, as it was about a 3.5 hour drive from Medford. We stopped along the coast a few times along the way. So many gorgeous views. Limerence with the ocean is so peculiar. It was foggy too so it made everything look a little spooky.


We drove along the Redwood Highway which was insanely gorgeous. We finally got to our destination after driving down a dirt path in a Jurassic Park looking environment (Jurassic Park was actually filmed here for real). All the plants were covered in dust, so everything was a white-brown colour and looked rather uncanny.

Driving through the Redwoods.

We walked for a little bit down the trail and got to Fern Canyon. Fern Canyon was incredible. It was like we were exploring the jungle. I have never seen anything like it before.


After exploring the canyon, we went back by the ocean to hangout. Then, we started to drive back and stopped at one of the Redwood trails off the highway. We walked the trails in silence just taking everything in. The forest had a strange familiarity to it where it felt like it knew who you were. Everything was so quiet and the smells were unreal. There is really nothing like it.


We left and headed back to Crescent City to grab a bite to eat. We got home around 10 and I was so exhausted I fell right asleep. I had such an amazing day and I was really glad to spend it with Erin. She is such a great person and I was really really enjoyed her company.

Me and Erin in a Redwood!

 

DAY 32:

I was sad to leave Jeremy’s because he had such a cozy place. We really got along and had similar taste in music. I was staying with my next host, Mo, who lived right in Ashland. I went to his place, hung out for a bit, went for dinner and ice cream and then walked around Lithia Park. We also checked out Emmigrant Lake.

I had pretty low energy today for some reason, so called it an early night.

DAY 33:

Today we had plans to go to Mt Ashland. It was a beautiful sunny day and the drive was so nice. It was funny to me, going to Mt Ashland, because we were crossing parts of the PCT. Even when I wasn’t on the PCT, I was on the PCT.

We got to the peak and hung out for a while. It was really cool to see the view of the valley.


It was gorgeous up there. We drove a little longer around the roads on the mountain, then went back and got food at Sauce. The food was incredible and reminded me a lot like my favourite restaurant at home.

Later, I went back downtown to walk around the park. Ashland holds free outdoor concerts every weeknight so I attended that as well. I really miss live music and I’m pretty sure this is the longest I’ve ever gone without going to a show.

I have really been enjoying the small town vibe and the free spirit of Ashland. With that being said, I am incredibly eager to get back hiking.

DAY 34:

I honestly did not do much today at all. I was supposed to get back on trail at Crater Lake, but my ride fell through. I spent most of my day replanning how I’d get back on trail. There seems to be no other option than just to hike North, then turn around back South. This is how bad I want to see Crater Lake. I could probably hitch, but I honestly don’t want to spend another day of commuting, especially with such uncertainty.

I planned to send some resupply boxes out so I prepared those too. I seriously think I’m getting worse at this though. I always have way too much food! Not a bad problem to have.

After, I went back downtown to explore and see the concert. I am waiting for a package to arrive tomorrow and I’m hoping it will arrive early enough that I can get on trail tomorrow. I really don’t want to wait until Saturday, although I believe I might have to.

I can’t believe how much I am missing the trail. I can already feel my body craving the activity. I seriously wanted to go for a run or work out today. It’s funny how masochistic our bodies can be. When I’m on the trail, all I can think about is relaxing in town and warm real food and cold beer or coffee. Then, in town, I just want to be back hiking and in nature. It’s two pulling forces that are constantly fighting each other. My inner gemini is showing. I think it has to do with my love for nature/outdoors and my love for big cities. Most people don’t have both I find.

Today as well was the first time I felt myself feeling lonely since I’ve been gone. I think it’s because the lack of people my age and the fact that I haven’t met anyone I really connected with in the last few towns I was in. I also think it has to do with being anxious and eager to get out of town and wanting to get back on trail.  You would think being on trail feels more lonely than towns but that’s the last place I feel it. I guess nature fills those gaps.

Anyways tomorrow should be an interesting day since I have no idea what to expect. Hoping everything falls into place!

 

Posted in: PCT

One thought on “Ashland

Leave a comment